Tuesday, August 26, 2008

I survived the first 2 days of classes!

Ok, I guess it is time for an update!
This is me in front of my building...in the middle of the fountain!
Yipee!  I survived the first 2 days of class.  Since my last post I have done a lot of things...including completely rearranging my schedule.  SO...here is the update, I am now taking:
Introduction to Eduction
Curricular Foundations of Early Childhood Education
Development of the Young Child
Families with Deaf Children
Audiology and Hearing Techniques for Educators and Counselors
and an ASL Class (I am not sure which one, I have to do a class screening next week)

So since I am going to have a crazy schedule...and we all are going to be hard core graduate students in a few days time-taking classes, studying like crazy, and having hard-core headaches from watching people sign all the time, we decided to have a little fun this past weekend.  

On friday night a group of graduate students went out to Remington's, a line dancing club, and learned how to do the Mambo Shuffle (doesn't sound very country does it...it wasn't), but we had a great time.  On the way there, on the bus there was the cutest baby ever, and James was playing peek-a-boo with him.  On the way back we entertained ourselves by taking pictures, and wondering if people were going to fall into our laps when we made a turn...  The following picture is of Melissa and I on the bus on the way home.  

Then, on Saturday we decided to explore the city a bit!  
(at the metro station near Gallaudet)
(once we all had our SmarTrip cards-clearly we are not tourists anymore!)
(at the National Mall)
(at the sculpture garden---Greg is being a pimp; Heather, Melissa, Jill, and I are spelling "DC"; and Allie is saying "I Love You")
(at the Sculpture Garden, looking at the National Archives)

After our adventures on the town we went shopping.  I bought a printer at Best Buy (thanks Dad! -it was my graduation present) and got some other things to help organize my room.  Then we came back and Heather, Jill and I played a few hours of Nintendo Wii Mario Kart.  It was sooooo entertaining playing with the Wii wheels (and we had a lot of people comment on our child-like joy).  It was a blast.   Sunday I slept in, went to Urban Outfitters and H&M with some of the girls and then met up with Lyndsay. She got to come see my room, and eat with us in the cafeteria, yipee!

Yesterday and today have been classes.  Yesterday I was supposed to have 2 classes but my professor for my first class didn't show up (supposedly he was in Istanbul, but is back now).  My class yesterday evening was fun, I think I am going to really enjoy it.  But SOOO DIFFERENT than my UCSD classes.  There were only 8 students in the class.  4 graduate students in my program, and 4 undergrads. And I was the only person who was not Deaf. Interesting!
My class today was a bit larger, but still nothing like my 300 person lectures my first year of undergrad at UCSD.  

Well that is it for now!  Enjoy the pics and I'll post again soon!

1 comment:

Unknown said...

You have gotten tanner!
Man, that looks like so much fun.
haha From 300 hundred people to 4. That's so the same...
Must be nice.

On a different note. Do you have AIM? We need to have a proper (well...as proper as long distance allows) conversation sometime! I miss you already and school hasn't even started yet!