Monday, October 20, 2008

Girls Night, Homecoming, & Markoff's Haunted Forest

Yay! I have some fun things to tell you about.  This weekend was filled with fun (and practically no homework)...therefore I have things to share with you!

Friday night I met up with another girl from my program (Jennifer), and 2 other girls and we had a girls night.  It was really fun getting to spend some time with Jen outside of class, and fun getting to know the other two girls.  We had wine and cheese at their house right near campus, and had a ton of fun. We also went on an adventure to Adams Morgan, a cute part of Washington, DC.  
GROUP PICTURE!
Samantha and Jennifer
Sarah and I

This weekend was also HOMECOMING WEEKEND for Gallaudet University.  It was quite exciting for me since I hadn't had a homecoming weekend since high school (silly UCSD with no football team).  Unfortunately Galludet lost, but we had a great time watching the game, wandering the booths, watching the cheerleaders, and trying to take pictures of our friend who is one of the football coaches.  
The crowd!
Gallaudet in Buff & Blue
Coach Nicar!
Melissa and I in our matching T-shirts, AGAIN!
The Final Score, ouch!

Another fun adventure for the weekend was to Markoff's Haunted Forest.  It is a halloween haunted forest in MD.  Every year they set up 2 "haunted trails" in the forest, as well as a bunch of other activities.  They had hot chocolate and apple cider, funnel cake, big bonfires, a zip-line, fortune telling, a rock-climbing wall, and all kinds of other things. 
Once you paid and got through the gate you wandered around until your number got called for the haunted forest.  I went with Tiffanie, Tony, and Jill and we had a blast walking through the haunted forest.  There were all kinds of strange creatures jumping out at you, weird noises, people in costumes, and it was extremely dark.  It was also FREEZING that night, only 48 degrees.  We had a great time.  I wish I had pictures but it was at night and very dark.

That's it for now--don't worry I didn't forget about your questions. I will answer all your questions in my next blog (once life is boring again and I don't have anything to write about)!

2 comments:

Andrew Griffin said...

I found out that UCSD has a homecoming! The only thing is that the homecoming game is for soccer.

GRRRRRRRR to having no football team.

Kristina Peel said...

In my country what you guys have decided to call soccer we call football - bizarelly because you kick the ball with your feet.